Foundation for Clovis Schools

News & Events

2012 Student’s of Promise Scholarship Recipients

Thursday, June 21st, 2012 at 8:45 am

On March 19, 2012, fifteen amazing high school juniors were recognized as Students of Promise. Started in 2001, the Students of Promise Scholarship Program honors students who are attending school on a regular basis, showing responsibility and succeeding in school in spite of very challenging situations in their personal lives.

On each high school campus, there are students who face extreme obstacles that could easily affect their performance at school, but somehow these students do not let challenges get in their way. Obstacles that students face include: growing up in foster care, homelessness, poverty, critical illness, death of parents, drug addition, gang affiliation, becoming a teen parent, and more. Each year, Foundation Directors read letters from school counselors and teachers about some extraordinary young people who have beat the odds.

The Students of Promise award is given to students in their junior year to reward them for persevering through tough times and to encourage them to keep up the good work. Upon graduation from high school, each Student of Promise is eligible to receive a $2,000 scholarship for college or technical school.

This year’s recipients are:

Taylor Ball – Buchanan High School

Haylee Brossard – Clovis East High School

Daisha Fowlkes – Clovis North High School

Wendy Freeman – Clovis High School

Kerrigan L. Gunter-Mitchell – Clovis East High School

Dylan Ramsay Hannameyer – Clovis High School

Ma Her – Clovis North High School

David Majors – Clovis High School

Sydnee Montgomery – Gateway High School

Thomas Patty – Clovis West High School

Alyse Pugh – Buchanan High School

Raziel Ramirez – Buchanan High School

Jessica Summers – Clovis West High School

Elizabeth Tannehill – Clovis High School

Rachael Treisman – Buchanan High School

The 2013 Students of Promise Scholarship dinner will be held on Monday, March 18, 2013, 6:00-9:00PM at TorNino’s.

Photography by: Ron Webb | Website designed by: Element Web Media